Official working visit to Senegal and Ghana

 
 

Federal Councillor Simonetta Sommaruga travelled to Senegal and Ghana from 5 to 9 July. Talks with both countries focused on climate protection. In Senegal, Ms Sommaruga signed a bilateral agreement on climate protection; a similar agreement between Switzerland and Ghana is already in place. She also took part in several bilateral meetings and a ministerial roundtable discussion in Ghana to examine joint initiatives to protect the climate and the environment. Both in Senegal and Ghana, she visited several energy and environmental project sites.

A look back on the working visit

Cocoa production

With its 800,000 smallholder farms, Ghana is the world’s second-largest cocoa producer. Switzerland imports 50% of its cocoa from Ghana. The cocoa industry is facing numerous challenges: the poverty of small farmers, falling production due to factors like climate change, deforestation and the loss of biodiversity. SECO recognised the cocoa sector’s challenges and launched the Swiss Platform for Sustainable Cocoa together with 55 Swiss stakeholders in 2017. The aim is that 80% of imported cocoa should be sourced from socially, ecologically and economically sustainable production by 2025, thus improving the living conditions of cocoa farmers and their families. Switzerland has taken the lead through its active engagement with these issues: during her term as president in 2020, Ms Sommaruga discussed the challenges faced by cocoa farmers with Ghanaian President Nana Akufo Addo during his state visit to Bern. As part of her visit to Ghana this year, Ms Sommaruga met with stakeholders in the cocoa branch on 8 July, gaining insight into innovative sustainability solutions.

© DETEC

Solar Taxi tour

Farming and fishing have traditionally shaped life in Ghana – now young companies are creating increasing numbers of innovative jobs. Ms Sommaruga’s tour of Solar Taxi on 8 July gave her a first-hand look at the country’s e-mobility start-up scene. Solar Taxi has been producing electric vehicles since 2019 and also offers an app-based courier service. The start-up, which strives to work in accordance with the 2030 Agenda’s sustainable development goals, emphasises inclusivity and mainly employs women even in engineering functions. Solar Taxi exemplifies several elements of the Federal Council’s Sub-Saharan Africa Strategy: digitalisation, sustainability and prosperity through education.

Mechanics at work
Mechanics at work
© DETEC

Visit to the Citi FM media company

Communications minister Simonetta Sommaruga visited Citi FM on 8 July, which provided her with a look at Ghana’s media landscape. The sheer number of radio stations gives a good indication of the country’s diverse media offering: there are around 430 national broadcasters in Ghana, 56 in Accra alone.

Snapshot of the Citi Breakfast Show
Snapshot of the Citi Breakfast Show
© Keystone

Electronic waste recycling firm

Chance for Children: an NGO for street-connected children

A visit to Chance for Children (CFC) on 7 July allowed Ms Sommaruga to see the humane side of the Old Fadama district. Around 40,000 people live near the e-waste dump. Swiss national Daniela Rüdisüli has been operating her drop-in centre for street-connected children for over 20 years. Up to 45 children a day receive a warm meal, medical care and the opportunity to participate in classes and workshops. There is currently a project underway in cooperation with the relevant ministry to develop an occupational education and training programme modelled on the Swiss dual-track system.

Ghana Cooperation Programme launched

Ms Sommaruga officially launched SECO’s new Ghana Cooperation Programme on 7 July. Ghana has been among Switzerland’s priority countries for development cooperation since 2002. A total of CHF 65 to 70 million will be available for the 2021–2024 window. Each country’s programme follows a four-year cycle.

Launch Ghana Cooperation Programme
Launch Ghana Cooperation Programme
© DETEC

Ghana: meeting with environment minister Kwaku Afriyie

Switzerland’s 2020 climate agreement with Ghana was among the first of its kind, and the related CO2 compensation projects are now in the implementation phase. Ms Sommaruga discussed future implementation with Kwaku Afriyie, head of the ministry in charge of the projects, at their bilateral meeting on 7 July. A roundtable with representatives from the other Ghanaian ministries involved in the climate agreement allowed participants to examine more closely how to ensure its efficient implementation.

Federal Councillor Simonetta Sommaruga and the Ghanaian Environment Minister Kwaku Afriyie
Federal Councillor Simonetta Sommaruga and the Ghanaian Environment Minister Kwaku Afriyie
© DETEC

Taiba N’Diaye wind farm

The largest wind farm in West Africa was built recently in Taiba N’Diaye, some 90 kilometres from Dakar, the capital of Senegal. There 46 wind turbines produce reliable clean energy. Senegal draws on an energy mix that includes increasing amounts of power from renewable energies.

Taiba N’Diaye wind farm
Taiba N’Diaye wind farm
© DETEC

Switzerland–Senegal treaty signed

Federal Councillor Simonetta Sommaruga and Senegalese Minister for the Environment and Sustainable Development Abdou Karim Sall signed a bilateral agreement in Dakar on 6 July 2021. The agreement establishes a framework for Switzerland to compensate CO2 emissions through climate projects in Senegal. Peru and Ghana signed similar agreements with Switzerland in 2020.

Switzerland–Senegal treaty signed
Switzerland–Senegal treaty signed
© Keystone

Cultural exchange in Senegal

Ms Sommaruga visited the Maison des Cultures Urbaines (House of Urban Culture) in Dakar, where she spoke with young female rappers and a graffiti artist to get an insight into the cultural life of young people in Senegal’s cities. She also met author Ken Bugul, who described a more traditional Senegal as well as some of the country’s current social challenges.

Infographic

Grafik Schweiz - Senegal/Ghana
Switzerland - Senegal/Ghana: Infographic
https://www.uvek.admin.ch/content/uvek/en/home/uvek/bundesraetin-simonetta-sommaruga/anlaesse/arbeitsbesuch-senegal-ghana.html

Arbeitsbesuch in Senegal und Ghana

 
 

Bundesrätin Simonetta Sommaruga besuchte vom 5. bis 9. Juli 2021 Senegal und Ghana. Bei den Gesprächen in beiden Ländern stand der Klimaschutz im Zentrum. In Senegal unterzeichnete Bundesrätin Sommaruga ein Abkommen zum Klimaschutz. Mit Ghana besteht bereits ein solches Abkommen. An bilateralen Treffen und im Rahmen eines ministeriellen Roundtable-Gesprächs vertiefte Bundesrätin Sommaruga in Ghana den Dialog zu den gemeinsamen Bestrebungen im Klima- und Umweltschutz. Sie besichtigte in beiden Ländern zudem verschiedene Energie- und Umweltprojekte. 

Rückblick auf den Arbeitsbesuch

Kakaoproduktion

Ghana ist mit seinen 800'000 Kleinbauern der zweitgrösste Kakao-Produzent der Welt. Die Schweiz importiert 50 Prozent seines Kakaos aus Ghana. Die Kakaoindustrie steht vor zahlreichen Herausforderungen (Armut der Kleinbauern, Produktionsrückgang etwa durch Klimawandel, Abholzung, Verlust der Artenvielfalt). Das SECO erkannte die Herausforderungen für den Kakaosektor und lancierte 2017 zusammen mit 55 Schweizer Stakeholdern die Schweizer Plattform für nachhaltigen Kakao. 80 Prozent des importierten Kakaos sollen bis 2025 aus sozial, ökologisch und ökonomisch nachhaltiger Produktion stammen. So sollen auch die Lebensbedingungen der Kakaobauern und ihrer Familien verbessert werden. Die Schweiz übernimmt mit ihrem Engagement eine Führungsrolle. 2020 tauschte sich die damalige Bundespräsidentin Sommaruga beim Staatsbesuch des ghanaischen Präsidenten Nana Akufo Addo in Bern über die Herausforderungen beim Kakaoanbau aus. Bei ihrem Besuch in Ghana am 8. Juli 2021 tauschte sich Bundesrätin Sommaruga mit Akteuren der Kakaobranche aus und erhielt Einblicke in innovative Lösungsansätze zur Nachhaltigkeit.

© UVEK

Besichtigung Solar Taxi

Ghana ist ein stark von der Landwirtschaft und der Fischerei geprägtes Land. Zunehmend schaffen junge Unternehmen innovative Arbeitsplätze. Beim Besuch von Solar Taxi am 8. Juli 2021 hat sich Bundesrätin Sommaruga einen Eindruck in die Start-Up-Szene im Bereich der E-Mobilität verschafft. Solar Taxi produziert seit 2019 Elektrofahrzeuge und bietet Kurierdienste per Mobile App an. Das Start-Up orientiert sich ausdrücklich an den Sustainable Development Goals SDG der Agenda 2030. Es setzt stark auf Inklusivität und beschäftigt auch im Ingenieurbereich überwiegend Frauen. Solar Taxi vereint die Themen Digitalisierung, Nachhaltigkeit und Wohlstand durch Bildung; dies sind Elemente der Subsahara-Strategie des Bundesrates.

Mechanikerinnen bei der Arbeit
Mechanikerinnen bei der Arbeit
© UVEK

Besuch des Medienunternehmens Citi FM

Medienministerin Simonetta Sommaruga hat am 8. Juli Citi FM besucht und sich einen Einblick in die Medienlandschaft Ghanas verschafft. Das Land hat eine vielfältige Medienwelt, dies zeigt sich in der Zahl der Radiostationen: Rund 430 nationale Radios senden in Ghana, 56 allein in Accra.

Momentaufnahme Citi Breakfast Show
Momentaufnahme Citi Breakfast Show
© Keystone

Elektroschrott-Recycling Firma

Strassenkinder NGO: Chance for Children

Der Besuch bei Chance for Children (CFC) am 7. Juli 2021 zeigte Bundesrätin Sommaruga die soziale Seite des Old Fadama District. Im Gebiet der Elektroschrotthalde leben rund 40'000 Menschen. Seit über 20 Jahren engagiert sich dort die Schweizerin Daniela Rüdisüli in ihrem Tageszentrum für Strassenkinder. Bis zu 45 Kinder erhalten täglich eine warme Mahlzeit, medizinische Betreuung und können an Unterrichtsstunden teilnehmen. Gegenwärtig wird mit dem zuständigen Ministerium ein Berufsbildungs- und Trainingsprogramm entwickelt, welches sich an der dualen Berufsbildung der Schweiz orientiert.

Launch Ghana Cooperation Programme

Bundesrätin Sommaruga lancierte am 7. Juli 2021 offiziell das neue Ghana-Kooperationsprogramm des SECO. Ghana ist seit 2002 ein Schwerpunktland der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit der Schweiz. Für die Jahre 2021-2024 stehen insgesamt 65 bis 70 Millionen Franken zur Verfügung. Die Länderprogramme folgen einem Vierjahreszyklus.

Launch Ghana Cooperation Programme
Launch Ghana Cooperation Programme
© UVEK

Ghana: Treffen mit Umweltminister Kwaku Afriyie

Mit Ghana hat die Schweiz 2020 eines der ersten Klimaabkommen unterzeichnet. Die Projekte zur CO2-Kompensation sind nun in der Umsetzung. Bundesrätin Sommaruga hat am 7. Juli 2021 in einem bilateralen Gespräch mit dem zuständigen MESTI-Minister Kwaku Afriyie über die weitere Umsetzung gesprochen. In einem Roundtable mit weiteren involvierten Ministerien Ghanas wurden die Gespräche darüber, wie eine effiziente Umsetzung des Klimaabkommens gewährleistet werden kann, vertieft.

Bundesrätin Sommaruga und Ghanas Umweltminister Kwaku Afriyie
Bundesrätin Sommaruga und Ghanas Umweltminister Kwaku Afriyie
© UVEK

Windpark Taiba N’Diaye

In Taiba N’Diaye, rund 90 Kilometer von Senegals Hauptstadt Dakar entfernt, entstand in den letzten Jahren der grösste Windpark Westafrikas. 46 Windturbinen produzieren dort verlässlichen und sauberen Strom. Senegal setzt auf einen Energiemix, zunehmend auch auf Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien.

Windpark Taiba N’Diaye
Windpark Taiba N’Diaye
© UVEK

Unterzeichnung Staatsvertrag Schweiz-Senegal

Bundesrätin Simonetta Sommaruga und Umweltminister Abdou Karim Sall haben am 6. Juli 2021 in Dakar ein bilaterales Abkommen unterzeichnet. Es schafft die Rahmenbedingungen, damit die Schweiz CO2-Emissionen über Klimaschutzprojekte in Senegal kompensieren kann. 2020 hat die Schweiz bereits ähnliche Abkommen mit Peru und Ghana abgeschlossen.

Unterzeichnung Staatsvertrag Schweiz-Senegal
Unterzeichnung Staatsvertrag Schweiz-Senegal
© Keystone

Kulturaustausch Senegal

Im Austausch mit jungen Rapperinnen und einer Graffitikünstlerin konnte sich Bundesrätin Sommaruga in der Maison des Cultures Urbaines in Dakar einen Eindruck verschaffen über das junge, urbane, kulturelle Leben in Senegal. Ein Gespräch mit der Schriftstellerin Ken Bugul vermittelte ihr ferner einen Einblick in das traditionellere Senegal und die aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen.  

Infografik

Grafik Schweiz - Senegal/Ghana
Schweiz - Senegal/Ghana: Infografik
https://www.uvek.admin.ch/content/uvek/de/home/uvek/bundesraetin-simonetta-sommaruga/anlaesse/arbeitsbesuch-senegal-ghana.html