Electricity industry financial backstop: FAQs (Archived Dossier)

What purpose does the backstop serve?

Since the end of 2021, there have been substantial price swings on the energy markets. The war in Ukraine has exacerbated this situation. It has greatly increased the liquidity needs of electricity companies active in trading energy supplies. Although Swiss electricity companies are well positioned, in the worst case scenario there could be an uncontrollable chain reaction that could endanger the liquidity of a systemically critical electricity company and thereby jeopardise Switzerland's electricity supplies. The consequences of a prolonged blackout would be devastating. By providing a financial backstop for systemically critical electricity companies, the Federal Council wants to prevent this worst-case scenario. A sufficient and secure electricity supply is essential for the functioning of society and the economy.

Axpo Holding has now submitted a request for temporary liquidity support to the Federal Council because of the extreme price fluctuations on the European markets. After considering detailed assessments and with the approval of the Federal Assembly Finance Delegation (FinDel), the Federal Council decided on 5 September 2022 to activate the financial backstop and to provide Axpo with the credit line of CHF 4 billion that it had requested.

What conditions did the Federal Council attach to its support for Axpo?

The credit line is subject to strict conditions. They include a ban on any dividends for as long as loans or interest payments are outstanding. For the duration of the arrangement, Axpo and the companies in its group may not sell any assets or carry out any restructuring that could jeopardise the repayment of the loans or any collateral. Axpo must also provide the federal agencies concerned, as well as ElCom and the Swiss Federal Audit Office (SFAO), with the information and documentation they require, e.g. on their financial situation, on how the loans are being used and on energy trading transactions. The loans from the federal government are to be considered a back-up and must be replaced as quickly as possible by other funding from the owners and other debt capital providers.

What is the legal basis for the Federal Council's decision?

The Federal Council has based its decision on the procedures set out in the emergency federal act on subsidiary financial aid for electricity companies, which the Federal Council submitted to Parliament in May and the Council of States approved in June. As the National Council was still debating this at the time of Axpo’s request, federal support was provided via an emergency ordinance. Parliament passed the emergency federal law on 30 September 2022.

Will other electricity companies soon be knocking on the federal government's door?

The Confederation is monitoring the situation very closely. In view of the high price fluctuations, Federal Councillor Simonetta Sommaruga had already set up a task force before Christmas 2021 in response to another electricity company requesting temporary liquidity support, a request which that company then withdrew at the beginning of the year.

It is up to the individual electricity companies to decide whether they wish to file a request for support. The Confederation is therefore unable to say whether further requests are imminent. By establishing the financial backstop, the Federal Council wants to prevent an uncontrollable chain reaction that could endanger Switzerland's electricity supplies.

What might trigger a chain reaction of this kind?

The major and exceptional price hikes on the European energy markets have greatly exacerbated the credit risks and led to demands for higher security deposits, thereby increasing liquidity risks for Swiss electricity companies. In the event of a shock price rise, for example as a result of a Russian gas supply freeze, a decision by European states not to buy Russian gas, or a drastic, temporary shortage of actual gas supplies, the liquidity needs of electricity companies can increase so much in a short time that they can no longer deposit sufficient collateral in time. This could result in the uncontrolled failure of a systemically critical company.

The emergency federal act on the financial backstop has been introduced to respond to this worst-case scenario. In other crises, the Federal Council has had to take action under emergency law. It wants to avoid doing so if at all possible. The emergency federal act ensures that Parliament must be involved and thus also has a say in the conditions for providing support. In addition, it means that conditions for granting state aid are made transparent. The Council of States approved the measures in June, but the National Council decided against an emergency debate at that time.

What are the key figures for the financial backstop?

  • Only systemically critical electricity companies will receive support (according to the decision of the Council of States, in addition to the large companies such as Axpo, Alpiq and BKW, other electricity companies should be able to receive support in the event of liquidity shortages where failure to do so would jeopardise the security of supply).
  • The federal government's support is subsidiary, i.e. the companies and their outside creditors and equity investors are the first in line to provide capital.
  • Strict conditions apply: These include transparency requirements, a market-based interest rate plus a risk premium, and a ban on dividend distributions.
  • The maximum amount for a direct loan from the Confederation is CHF 10 billion.

Which electricity companies are considered systemically critical?

These are Swiss electricity companies that hold a significant stake in the domestic production portfolio and the marketing of the electricity generated. The legislation defines which companies meet this criterion – those with a power plant capacity in Switzerland of at least 1,200 megawatts. These are Axpo Holding AG, Alpiq Holding AG and BKW AG. ElCom may designate other companies in the electricity industry as systemically relevant, even if they have a lower power plant capacity, provided that they are highly interconnected and relevant to the national economy.

Who is responsible for supporting the other electricity supply companies?

In the case of electricity supply companies that are not systemically critical, the owners are responsible. They must provide the required liquidity and capital. If a company of this type fails, it will be replaced by a competitor.

Could a power plant not simply continue to operate in the event of bankruptcy?

Ideally, yes, but in the worst-case scenario, it could stop operating and then Switzerland's electricity supply could be affected. At present, the companies do not have adequate plans to guarantee continued electricity production and distribution in the event of their insolvency. That is why the Federal Council wants to put precautionary measures in place. The output of the systemically critical electricity companies is crucial for the national economy. If they are in difficulties and are not taken over by other market participants within a reasonable period of time, which for the electricity market means within a few hours, it may no longer be possible to guarantee nationwide supply.

Wouldn't the owners and especially the cantons be responsible first and foremost?

The primary responsibility for security of supply remains with the energy suppliers and their owners. The financial backstop is only used on a subsidiary basis and only in the event of extraordinary market developments in which there is an immediate threat of insolvency. Since it is not certain that supplies could continue if a company were to go bankrupt, the federal government must intervene. Many cantons are not able to provide such large amounts of money at short notice. However, the cantons must bear half of any losses incurred by the Confederation on loans to electricity companies.

What specific conditions are attached to the federal aid?

  • The financial backstop is not voluntary: the new law applies to all systemically critical electricity companies. However, a systemically critical company can be largely exempted from the scope of the federal act if it can count on equivalent financial support from its local canton.
  • The conditions for federal support are very strict. These include transparency requirements, a market-based interest rate plus a risk premium, and a ban on dividend distributions. Interest on the loans is charged at market rates, with a risk premium of between 4 and 10 per cent. The strict conditions make it clear that the backstop is only intended for extreme situations. In addition, the companies subject to the law pay a commitment fee to at least partially cover the costs incurred by the federal government in setting up the financial backstop.
  • The systemically critical electricity companies can enter into an agreement with the Confederation in advance on the conditions of a subsidiary loan in a crisis situation, as assistance must be available within 48 hours in the event of an emergency.
  • The new legislation will remain in force until the end of 2026. After that, a series of measures will take effect that will make the electricity sector more resilient and the financial backstop superfluous. These include regulations to ensure that important industries such as electricity production can continue to operate at all times (business continuity management) and a law on the integrity and transparency of wholesale electricity and gas trading. The Federal Council submitted the corresponding bill for consultation on 16 December 2022. Requirements on the liquidity and capitalisation of companies are being defined separately.
  • The cantons must reimburse the Confederation for half of any losses on loans. The share borne by the individual cantons corresponds to their share of GDP. In return, the cantons will receive a 50 per cent share of the revenue from the risk surcharge.

Why is the financial backstop mandatory for systemically critical companies?

The companies in the electricity market are closely networked. If the electricity network fails, our country will be paralysed. Allowing the systemically critical companies to be subject to the backstop on a purely voluntary basis is not a viable option for the Federal Council because there may be situations in which they can no longer raise the necessary liquidity themselves within the time available and their bankruptcy could spark a chain reaction and even a system collapse. However, the Federal Council is now proposing that a systemically critical company can be largely exempted from the scope of the law if it can count on cantonal liquidity support that is equivalent to the federal arrangement.

Are further measures planned in the longer term?

The financial backstop is a short-term and temporary measure. The federal government is planning additional measures to ensure a sufficient and secure electricity supply in the longer term and to make the electricity companies more resilient:

  • Transparency requirements for the large electricity producers, so that liquidity shortages can be recognised early enough ('REMIT requirements': Regulation on Wholesale Energy Market Integrity and Transparency). The Federal Council expects companies to comply with these transparency requirements voluntarily and with immediate effect. They are required to provide information to ElCom so that it can anticipate difficulties and form an overview of the situation. On 16 December 2022 the Federal Council submitted a corresponding bill for consultation – the Federal Act on Wholesale Energy Market Oversight and Transparency.
  • In order to ensure that electricity continues to be produced in the event of a company's bankruptcy, specifications are required for the 'continued operation of key industries' (Business Continuity Management BCM). These are also being drafted and will go before Parliament in due course.
  • Capital and liquidity requirements – similar to those that apply today to systemically important banks – are currently being considered (Remit+). These rules could one day replace the emergency federal legislation on the financial backstop.
https://www.uvek.admin.ch/content/uvek/en/home/energie/energieversorgungssicherheit-ukraine-krieg/rettungsschirm-faq.html

Mécanisme de sauvetage pour la branche de l’électricité: FAQ

Quel est l’objectif du mécanisme de sauvetage?

Depuis fin 2021, les marchés de l’énergie sont sujets à d’importantes fluctuations de prix, qui s’accentuent encore en raison de la guerre en Ukraine. Par conséquent, les entreprises électriques actives dans le commerce de l’énergie ont besoin de beaucoup plus de liquidités. Bien que les entreprises électriques suisses soient bien positionnées, une réaction en chaîne incontrôlable pourrait, dans le pire des cas, menacer les liquidités d’un groupe électrique d’importance systémique et, par conséquent, l’approvisionnement en électricité de la Suisse. Les conséquences d’une panne d’électricité prolongée seraient désastreuses. Avec le mécanisme de sauvetage destiné aux entreprises électriques d’importance systémique, le Conseil fédéral veut éviter ce scénario le plus pessimiste. Pour notre population et notre économie, il est indispensable de disposer d’un approvisionnement en électricité sûr et de qualité.

En raison de l’extrême volatilité des prix sur les marchés européens, Axpo Holding a entre-temps déposé auprès du Conseil fédéral une demande de soutien temporaire en termes de liquidités. Sur la base de clarifications approfondies et avec l’accord de la Délégation des finances des Chambres fédérales (DélFin), le Conseil fédéral a décidé le 5 septembre 2022 d’activer le mécanisme de sauvetage et de mettre à la disposition d’Axpo, comme elle l’avait demandé, un crédit-cadre d’un montant de 4 milliards de francs.

Quelles sont les conditions auxquelles le Conseil fédéral a lié son soutien à Axpo?

Le crédit est lié à des conditions strictes. Il s’agit par exemple d’une interdiction de verser des dividendes tant que les prêts ou les intérêts ne sont pas payés. Axpo et les sociétés du groupe qui lui sont liées n’ont en outre pas le droit de vendre des actifs ou de procéder à des restructurations qui pourraient compromettre le remboursement des prêts ou d’éventuelles garanties pendant cette période. Axpo doit en outre fournir aux services fédéraux chargés de l’exécution ainsi qu’à l’ElCom et au Contrôle fédéral des finances (CDF) les renseignements et documents nécessaires, par exemple sur la situation financière, l’utilisation des prêts ou les opérations de négoce d’énergie. Les prêts de la Confédération doivent être subsidiaires et remplacés le plus rapidement possible par d’autres financements des propriétaires et d’autres bailleurs de fonds externes.

Sur quelles bases légales le Conseil fédéral s’est-il appuyé pour prendre sa décision?

Le Conseil fédéral s’est appuyé sur les modalités inscrites dans la loi fédérale urgente sur les aides financières subsidiaires destinées au sauvetage des entreprises électriques. Cette loi a été transmise au Parlement par le Conseil fédéral en mai et elle a été soutenue par le Conseil des Etats en juin. Comme la décision du Conseil national n’a pas encore été prise, le soutien de la Confédération se fait par le biais d’une ordonnance de nécessité. Lors de l’examen du mécanisme de sauvetage, le Parlement a souligné que le Conseil fédéral devait recourir au droit d’urgence si nécessaire.  

D’autres entreprises d’électricité vont-elles bientôt frapper à la porte de la Confédération?

La Confédération suit la situation de très près. En raison des fortes fluctuations de prix, la conseillère fédérale Simonetta Sommaruga a déjà mis en place une taskforce avant Noël 2021, lorsqu’une autre entreprise d’électricité avait déposé une demande de soutien temporaire en termes de liquidités, avant de la retirer en début d’année.

Ce sont les entreprises électriques qui décident de déposer ou non une demande. La Confédération ne peut donc pas donner d’indications à ce sujet. Avec ce mécanisme de sauvetage, le Conseil fédéral veut éviter une réaction en chaîne incontrôlable qui pourrait mettre en péril l’approvisionnement en électricité de la Suisse.

Quelles peuvent être les causes d’une réaction en chaîne?

Les fluctuations de prix importantes et inhabituelles sur les marchés européens de l’énergie ont fortement augmenté, voire aggravé les risques en matière de crédit et de garanties financières, et donc également les risques liés aux liquidités des entreprises électriques suisses. Les prix pourraient augmenter brutalement, par exemple en raison d’un arrêt des livraisons de gaz russe, d’une décision européenne de renoncer au gaz russe ou d’une forte diminution à court terme des livraisons physiques de gaz. Dans ce cas, les entreprises électriques verraient leur besoin en liquidités augmenter fortement en peu de temps et ne seraient peut-être plus en mesure de déposer suffisamment de garanties à temps. Cette situation pourrait entraîner une défaillance incontrôlée d’une entreprise d’importance systémique.

La loi fédérale urgente relative au mécanisme de sauvetage a pour but d’anticiper les pires scénarios. Lors de précédentes crises, le Conseil fédéral a dû invoquer le droit de nécessité, ce qu’il souhaite si possible éviter cette fois-ci. La loi fédérale urgente garantit que le Parlement peut être impliqué et donc participer à la définition des conditions de soutien. La Confédération assure en outre la transparence quant aux conditions d’obtention de l’aide de l’État. Le Conseil des États a traité cette loi en juin, tandis que le Conseil national a décidé de ne pas procéder à un examen rapide.

Quels sont les principaux éléments du mécanisme de sauvetage?

  • Seules les entreprises électriques d’importance systémique bénéficient de cette aide. (Selon la décision du Conseil des États, outre les grandes entreprises telles que Axpo, Alpiq et BKW, d’autres entreprises d’électricité doivent également pouvoir être soutenues financièrement en cas de manque de liquidités, afin d’éviter que la sécurité de l’approvisionnement ne soit compromise.)
  • La Confédération intervient de manière subsidiaire; cela signifie que les entreprises et leurs bailleurs de fonds externes et de fonds propres sont les premiers à être sollicités.
  • Les conditions sont strictes: notamment des règles de transparence, une rémunération des prêts conforme au marché assortie d’une prime de risque et une interdiction de distribuer des dividendes.
  • La Confédération octroiera des prêts directs pour un montant maximum de 10 milliards de francs.

Quelles sont les entreprises électriques considérées comme d’importance systémique?

Il s’agit d’entreprises d’électricité suisses qui détiennent une part importante du parc de production indigène et de la commercialisation d’électricité. La loi définit quelles sont les entreprises qui remplissent cette condition. Par principe, celles-ci doivent avoir une puissance installée en Suisse d’au moins 1200 mégawatts. Sont concernées Axpo Holding AG, Alpiq Holding SA et BKW SA. L’ElCom peut déterminer si d’autres entreprises du secteur de l’électricité présentant une puissance plus faible sont d’importance systémique, pour autant qu’elles soient bien connectées au réseau et revêtent une certaine importance économique.  

Qui est responsable des autres entreprises d’électricité?

Pour ce qui est des entreprises d’approvisionnement en électricité qui ne sont pas d’importance systémique, les propriétaires sont responsables d’apporter les liquidités et le capital nécessaires. Si l’une de ces entreprises devait connaître une défaillance, elle serait remplacée par des entreprises concurrentes.

Est-ce qu’une centrale électrique en faillite ne pourrait pas simplement continuer à fonctionner?

Dans l’idéal, oui, mais une défaillance n’est pas à exclure dans le pire des cas, et l’approvisionnement en électricité de la Suisse pourrait alors être affecté. À l’heure actuelle, les entreprises ne disposent pas encore de plans suffisamment aboutis pour garantir la poursuite de la production et de la distribution d’électricité même en cas d’illiquidité. Le Conseil fédéral veut justement prendre des précautions à cet égard. Les prestations que fournissent les entreprises d’électricité d’importance systémique sont indispensables à l’économie. Si elles ne peuvent pas être couvertes par d’autres participants au marché dans un délai raisonnable (soit quelques heures sur le marché de l’électricité) l’approvisionnement pourrait ne plus être garanti à l’échelle nationale.

Ne serait-ce pas aux propriétaires et en particulier aux cantons d’agir en premier lieu?

Les fournisseurs d’énergie et leurs propriétaires restent en priorité responsables de la sécurité de l’approvisionnement. Le mécanisme de sauvetage ne sera utilisé qu’à titre subsidiaire et uniquement en cas d’évolutions extraordinaires des marchés, s’il existe un risque immédiat d’insolvabilité ou de surendettement. Étant donné que la sécurité de l’approvisionnement n’est pas assurée en cas de faillite, la Confédération se doit d’intervenir. De nombreux cantons ne sont pas en mesure de mettre à disposition autant de fonds en peu de temps. Les cantons doivent néanmoins participer à hauteur de moitié aux éventuelles pertes sur les prêts de la Confédération.

Quelles conditions faut-il remplir concrètement pour bénéficier de l’aide fédérale?

  • Le mécanisme de sauvetage ne repose pas sur une base volontaire: l’assujettissement des entreprises électriques d’importance systémique est inscrit dans la loi. Une entreprise d’importance systémique peut être dans une large mesure exclue du champ d’application de la loi si elle peut compter sur un soutien cantonal en matière de liquidités équivalent à la réglementation fédérale.
  • Les conditions pour obtenir une aide de la Confédération sont très strictes. Elles comprennent notamment des prescriptions en matière de transparence, une rémunération des prêts conforme au marché accompagnée d’une prime de risque et une interdiction de distribuer des dividendes. Les prêts sont rémunérés aux conditions du marché, avec une prime de risque comprise entre 4 et 10 %. Ces conditions strictes signifient que le mécanisme de sauvetage n’est disponible que pour des situations extrêmes. En outre, les entreprises bénéficiaires paient un forfait de déploiement afin de couvrir au moins partiellement les dépenses de la Confédération pour le déploiement du mécanisme de sauvetage.
  • Les entreprises d’électricité d’importance systémique peuvent s’entendre avec la Confédération au préalable sur les conditions d’un prêt versé à titre subsidiaire en situation de crise, car en cas d’urgence, l’aide doit être disponible sous 48 heures.
  • La durée de la loi est limitée à fin 2026. Ensuite, un train de mesures devrait être décidé, qui doit améliorer la résilience du secteur de l’électricité et rendre le mécanisme de sauvetage superflu. Il s’agit notamment de prescriptions visant à garantir à tout moment le bon fonctionnement d’activités importantes comme la production d’électricité (Business Continuity Management), d’une loi sur l’intégrité et la transparence du marché de gros de l’électricité et du gaz ainsi que d’éventuelles prescriptions relatives aux liquidités et à la dotation en capital des entreprises.
  • Les cantons doivent rembourser à la Confédération la moitié des éventuelles pertes sur les prêts. Le montant de la participation des différents cantons dépendra de la part que ceux-ci représentent dans le produit intérieur brut. En contrepartie, les cantons bénéficient des recettes provenant de la prime de risque à hauteur de 50 %.

Pourquoi le mécanisme de sauvetage est-il obligatoire pour les entreprises d’importance systémique?

Les entreprises du marché de l’électricité sont étroitement liées entre elles. En cas de panne d’électricité, notre pays serait paralysé. Le Conseil fédéral estime qu’un assujettissement purement volontaire des entreprises d’importance systémique n’est pas une voie envisageable car il peut y avoir des situations dans lesquelles celles-ci ne sont plus en mesure d'apporter elles-mêmes les liquidités nécessaires dans le délai requis et dont la faillite pourrait entraîner des réactions en chaîne, voire l’effondrement du système. Le Conseil fédéral propose toutefois qu’une entreprise d’importance systémique puisse être exclue dans une large mesure du champ d’application de la loi si elle peut compter sur un soutien cantonal en matière de liquidités équivalent à la réglementation fédérale.

D’autres mesures sont-elles prévues à long terme?

Le mécanisme de sauvetage est une solution à court terme et transitoire. La Confédération prévoit d’autres mesures complémentaires afin de garantir un approvisionnement en électricité sûr et de qualité à long terme et d’améliorer la résilience des grandes entreprises d’électricité:

  • Il convient de respecter les prescriptions en matière de transparence destinées aux gros producteurs d’électricité, afin que les manques de liquidités puissent être détectés suffisamment tôt (REMIT: règlement de l’UE concernant l’intégrité et la transparence du marché de gros de l’énergie). Le Conseil fédéral attend des entreprises qu’elles respectent dès maintenant ces prescriptions en matière de transparence sur une base volontaire. Les informations dont il est question seront livrées à l’ElCom, qui sera alors en mesure de mieux prévoir les difficultés et qui aura un aperçu global de la situation. Le Conseil fédéral prévoit de réglementer ultérieurement ces prescriptions en matière de transparence dans la cadre d’une loi.
  • Afin de garantir que la production d’électricité se poursuive même en cas de faillite, il est nécessaire d’établir des directives relatives à ce qu’on appelle la «continuité des opérations» («Business Continuity Management»). Ces directives sont en cours d’élaboration et seront ensuite soumises au Parlement.
  • Les prescriptions concernant les fonds propres et les liquidités, tel qu’elles existent aujourd’hui pour les banques d’importance systémique, sont actuellement en examen (REMIT +). Des règles de ce type pourraient à l’avenir remplacer la loi fédérale urgente sur le mécanisme de sauvetage.
https://www.uvek.admin.ch/content/uvek/fr/home/energie/energieversorgungssicherheit-ukraine-krieg/rettungsschirm-faq.html