Electricity industry financial backstop: FAQs (Archived Dossier)

What purpose does the backstop serve?

Since the end of 2021, there have been substantial price swings on the energy markets. The war in Ukraine has exacerbated this situation. It has greatly increased the liquidity needs of electricity companies active in trading energy supplies. Although Swiss electricity companies are well positioned, in the worst case scenario there could be an uncontrollable chain reaction that could endanger the liquidity of a systemically critical electricity company and thereby jeopardise Switzerland's electricity supplies. The consequences of a prolonged blackout would be devastating. By providing a financial backstop for systemically critical electricity companies, the Federal Council wants to prevent this worst-case scenario. A sufficient and secure electricity supply is essential for the functioning of society and the economy.

Axpo Holding has now submitted a request for temporary liquidity support to the Federal Council because of the extreme price fluctuations on the European markets. After considering detailed assessments and with the approval of the Federal Assembly Finance Delegation (FinDel), the Federal Council decided on 5 September 2022 to activate the financial backstop and to provide Axpo with the credit line of CHF 4 billion that it had requested.

What conditions did the Federal Council attach to its support for Axpo?

The credit line is subject to strict conditions. They include a ban on any dividends for as long as loans or interest payments are outstanding. For the duration of the arrangement, Axpo and the companies in its group may not sell any assets or carry out any restructuring that could jeopardise the repayment of the loans or any collateral. Axpo must also provide the federal agencies concerned, as well as ElCom and the Swiss Federal Audit Office (SFAO), with the information and documentation they require, e.g. on their financial situation, on how the loans are being used and on energy trading transactions. The loans from the federal government are to be considered a back-up and must be replaced as quickly as possible by other funding from the owners and other debt capital providers.

What is the legal basis for the Federal Council's decision?

The Federal Council has based its decision on the procedures set out in the emergency federal act on subsidiary financial aid for electricity companies, which the Federal Council submitted to Parliament in May and the Council of States approved in June. As the National Council was still debating this at the time of Axpo’s request, federal support was provided via an emergency ordinance. Parliament passed the emergency federal law on 30 September 2022.

Will other electricity companies soon be knocking on the federal government's door?

The Confederation is monitoring the situation very closely. In view of the high price fluctuations, Federal Councillor Simonetta Sommaruga had already set up a task force before Christmas 2021 in response to another electricity company requesting temporary liquidity support, a request which that company then withdrew at the beginning of the year.

It is up to the individual electricity companies to decide whether they wish to file a request for support. The Confederation is therefore unable to say whether further requests are imminent. By establishing the financial backstop, the Federal Council wants to prevent an uncontrollable chain reaction that could endanger Switzerland's electricity supplies.

What might trigger a chain reaction of this kind?

The major and exceptional price hikes on the European energy markets have greatly exacerbated the credit risks and led to demands for higher security deposits, thereby increasing liquidity risks for Swiss electricity companies. In the event of a shock price rise, for example as a result of a Russian gas supply freeze, a decision by European states not to buy Russian gas, or a drastic, temporary shortage of actual gas supplies, the liquidity needs of electricity companies can increase so much in a short time that they can no longer deposit sufficient collateral in time. This could result in the uncontrolled failure of a systemically critical company.

The emergency federal act on the financial backstop has been introduced to respond to this worst-case scenario. In other crises, the Federal Council has had to take action under emergency law. It wants to avoid doing so if at all possible. The emergency federal act ensures that Parliament must be involved and thus also has a say in the conditions for providing support. In addition, it means that conditions for granting state aid are made transparent. The Council of States approved the measures in June, but the National Council decided against an emergency debate at that time.

What are the key figures for the financial backstop?

  • Only systemically critical electricity companies will receive support (according to the decision of the Council of States, in addition to the large companies such as Axpo, Alpiq and BKW, other electricity companies should be able to receive support in the event of liquidity shortages where failure to do so would jeopardise the security of supply).
  • The federal government's support is subsidiary, i.e. the companies and their outside creditors and equity investors are the first in line to provide capital.
  • Strict conditions apply: These include transparency requirements, a market-based interest rate plus a risk premium, and a ban on dividend distributions.
  • The maximum amount for a direct loan from the Confederation is CHF 10 billion.

Which electricity companies are considered systemically critical?

These are Swiss electricity companies that hold a significant stake in the domestic production portfolio and the marketing of the electricity generated. The legislation defines which companies meet this criterion – those with a power plant capacity in Switzerland of at least 1,200 megawatts. These are Axpo Holding AG, Alpiq Holding AG and BKW AG. ElCom may designate other companies in the electricity industry as systemically relevant, even if they have a lower power plant capacity, provided that they are highly interconnected and relevant to the national economy.

Who is responsible for supporting the other electricity supply companies?

In the case of electricity supply companies that are not systemically critical, the owners are responsible. They must provide the required liquidity and capital. If a company of this type fails, it will be replaced by a competitor.

Could a power plant not simply continue to operate in the event of bankruptcy?

Ideally, yes, but in the worst-case scenario, it could stop operating and then Switzerland's electricity supply could be affected. At present, the companies do not have adequate plans to guarantee continued electricity production and distribution in the event of their insolvency. That is why the Federal Council wants to put precautionary measures in place. The output of the systemically critical electricity companies is crucial for the national economy. If they are in difficulties and are not taken over by other market participants within a reasonable period of time, which for the electricity market means within a few hours, it may no longer be possible to guarantee nationwide supply.

Wouldn't the owners and especially the cantons be responsible first and foremost?

The primary responsibility for security of supply remains with the energy suppliers and their owners. The financial backstop is only used on a subsidiary basis and only in the event of extraordinary market developments in which there is an immediate threat of insolvency. Since it is not certain that supplies could continue if a company were to go bankrupt, the federal government must intervene. Many cantons are not able to provide such large amounts of money at short notice. However, the cantons must bear half of any losses incurred by the Confederation on loans to electricity companies.

What specific conditions are attached to the federal aid?

  • The financial backstop is not voluntary: the new law applies to all systemically critical electricity companies. However, a systemically critical company can be largely exempted from the scope of the federal act if it can count on equivalent financial support from its local canton.
  • The conditions for federal support are very strict. These include transparency requirements, a market-based interest rate plus a risk premium, and a ban on dividend distributions. Interest on the loans is charged at market rates, with a risk premium of between 4 and 10 per cent. The strict conditions make it clear that the backstop is only intended for extreme situations. In addition, the companies subject to the law pay a commitment fee to at least partially cover the costs incurred by the federal government in setting up the financial backstop.
  • The systemically critical electricity companies can enter into an agreement with the Confederation in advance on the conditions of a subsidiary loan in a crisis situation, as assistance must be available within 48 hours in the event of an emergency.
  • The new legislation will remain in force until the end of 2026. After that, a series of measures will take effect that will make the electricity sector more resilient and the financial backstop superfluous. These include regulations to ensure that important industries such as electricity production can continue to operate at all times (business continuity management) and a law on the integrity and transparency of wholesale electricity and gas trading. The Federal Council submitted the corresponding bill for consultation on 16 December 2022. Requirements on the liquidity and capitalisation of companies are being defined separately.
  • The cantons must reimburse the Confederation for half of any losses on loans. The share borne by the individual cantons corresponds to their share of GDP. In return, the cantons will receive a 50 per cent share of the revenue from the risk surcharge.

Why is the financial backstop mandatory for systemically critical companies?

The companies in the electricity market are closely networked. If the electricity network fails, our country will be paralysed. Allowing the systemically critical companies to be subject to the backstop on a purely voluntary basis is not a viable option for the Federal Council because there may be situations in which they can no longer raise the necessary liquidity themselves within the time available and their bankruptcy could spark a chain reaction and even a system collapse. However, the Federal Council is now proposing that a systemically critical company can be largely exempted from the scope of the law if it can count on cantonal liquidity support that is equivalent to the federal arrangement.

Are further measures planned in the longer term?

The financial backstop is a short-term and temporary measure. The federal government is planning additional measures to ensure a sufficient and secure electricity supply in the longer term and to make the electricity companies more resilient:

  • Transparency requirements for the large electricity producers, so that liquidity shortages can be recognised early enough ('REMIT requirements': Regulation on Wholesale Energy Market Integrity and Transparency). The Federal Council expects companies to comply with these transparency requirements voluntarily and with immediate effect. They are required to provide information to ElCom so that it can anticipate difficulties and form an overview of the situation. On 16 December 2022 the Federal Council submitted a corresponding bill for consultation – the Federal Act on Wholesale Energy Market Oversight and Transparency.
  • In order to ensure that electricity continues to be produced in the event of a company's bankruptcy, specifications are required for the 'continued operation of key industries' (Business Continuity Management BCM). These are also being drafted and will go before Parliament in due course.
  • Capital and liquidity requirements – similar to those that apply today to systemically important banks – are currently being considered (Remit+). These rules could one day replace the emergency federal legislation on the financial backstop.
https://www.uvek.admin.ch/content/uvek/en/home/energie/energieversorgungssicherheit-ukraine-krieg/rettungsschirm-faq.html

Rettungsschirm Strombranche: FAQ

Wozu dient der Rettungsschirm?

Seit Ende 2021 gibt es auf den Energiemärkten hohe Preisausschläge. Der Krieg in der Ukraine hat diese Entwicklungen verstärkt. Dadurch steigt der Liquiditätsbedarf der im Handel tätigen Stromunternehmen stark an. Obwohl die Schweizer Stromunternehmen gut aufgestellt sind, kann es im schlimmsten Fall zu einer unkontrollierbaren Kettenreaktion kommen, welche die Liquidität eines systemkritischen Stromkonzerns und damit auch die Schweizer Stromversorgung gefährden könnte. Die Folgen eines längeren Blackouts wären verheerend. Mit dem Rettungsschirm für systemkritische Stromunternehmen will der Bundesrat dieses Worst-Case-Szenario verhindern. Eine gute und sichere Stromversorgung ist für unsere Bevölkerung und Wirtschaft unerlässlich.

Die Axpo Holding hat aufgrund der extremen Preisverwerfungen auf den europäischen Märkten beim Bundesrat inzwischen ein Gesuch um temporäre Liquiditätsunterstützung eingereicht. Gestützt auf vertiefte Abklärungen und mit Zustimmung der Finanzdelegation der eidgenössischen Räte (FinDel) hat der Bundesrat am 5.9.2022 entschieden, den Rettungsschirm zu aktivieren und der Axpo wie von ihr beantragt einen Kreditrahmen im Umfang von vier Milliarden Franken zur Verfügung zu stellen.

An welche Bedingungen hat der Bundesrat die Unterstützung für die Axpo geknüpft?

Der Kredit ist an strenge Bedingungen geknüpft. Dazu gehört zum Beispiel ein Dividendenverbot so lange Darlehen oder Zinszahlungen ausstehend sind. Die Axpo und die mit ihr verbundenen Konzerngesellschafen dürfen während dieser Zeit zudem keine Aktiven veräussern und keine Umstrukturierungen vornehmen, die die Rückzahlung der Darlehen oder allfällige Sicherheiten gefährden könnten. Die Axpo muss ausserdem den Bundesstellen, die für den Vollzug zuständig sind, sowie der ElCom und der Eidgenössischen Finanzkontrolle (EFK) die nötigen Auskünfte und Unterlagen geben, z.B. zur Finanzlage, zur Ausschöpfung der Darlehen oder den Energiehandelsgeschäften. Die Darlehen des Bundes sollen subsidiär sein und so rasch wie möglich durch andere Finanzierungen der Eigentümer und anderer Fremdkapitalgeber abgelöst werden.

Auf welche gesetzlichen Grundlagen hat sich der Bundesrat bei seinem Entscheid abgestützt?

Der Bundesrat hat sich auf die Modalitäten abgestützt, die im dringlichen Bundesgesetz über subsidiäre Finanzhilfen für Stromunternehmen enthalten sind, die der Bundesrat im Mai dem Parlament überwiesen und der Ständerat im Juni unterstützt hat. Da der Entscheid des Nationalrats noch aussteht, erfolgt die Unterstützung des Bundes über eine Notverordnung. Bei der Beratung des Rettungsschirms hat das Parlament betont, dass der Bundesrat bei Bedarf Notrecht anwenden soll.  Der Bundesrat geht davon aus, dass das Parlament die Beratung des Rettungsschirms in der anstehenden Herbstsession abschliesst.

Werden bald weitere Stromunternehmen beim Bund anklopfen?

Der Bund beobachtet die Situation sehr aufmerksam. Aufgrund der hohen Preisverwerfungen hat Bundesrätin Simonetta Sommaruga schon vor Weihnachten 2021 eine Taskforce eingesetzt, als ein anderes Stromunternehmen ein Gesuch um temporäre Liquiditätsunterstützung eingereicht hatte, es Anfang Jahr dann aber zurückzog.

Über die Einreichung eines Gesuchs entscheiden die Stromunternehmen. Der Bund kann dazu daher keine Angaben geben. Mit dem Rettungsschirm will der Bundesrat verhindern, dass es zu einer unkontrollierbaren Kettenreaktion kommt, welche die Schweizer Stromversorgung gefährden könnte.

Was kann eine solche Kettenreaktion auslösen?

Die starken und aussergewöhnlichen Preissauschläge auf den europäischen Energiemärkten haben sowohl die Kreditrisiken wie auch die Sicherheitsleistungen und damit die Liquiditätsrisiken der Schweizer Stromunternehmen stark erhöht bzw. verschärft. Im Fall eines schockartigen Preisanstiegs, etwa durch einen russischen Lieferstopp für Gas, einen europäischen Verzicht auf russisches Gas oder durch eine drastische, kurzfristige Verknappung der physischen Gaslieferungen, kann sich der Liquiditätsbedarf der Stromunternehmen in kurzer Zeit so stark erhöhen, dass sie nicht mehr rechtzeitig genug Sicherheiten hinterlegen können. Dies kann einen unkontrollierten Ausfall eines systemkritischen Unternehmens zur Folge haben.

Das dringliche Bundesgesetz für den Rettungsschirm dient dazu, für den schlimmsten Fall gewappnet zu sein. In anderen Krisen musste der Bundesrat mit Notrecht einspringen. Das möchte er möglichst vermeiden. Das dringliche Bundesgesetz stellt sicher, dass das Parlament einbezogen werden kann und sich damit auch zu den Bedingungen der Unterstützung einbringen kann. Zudem schafft der Bund Transparenz bezüglich der Bedingungen der staatlichen Hilfe. Der Ständerat unterstützt den Rettungsschirm – er hat die Vorlage am 16. Juni 2022 gutgeheissen.

Was sind die wichtigsten Eckwerte des Schutzschirms?

  • Unterstützt werden nur systemkritische Stromunternehmen. (Gemäss Entscheid des Ständerats sollen neben den grossen Unternehmen wie Axpo, Alpiq und BKW weitere Stromunternehmen bei Liquiditätsengpässen unterstützt werden können, sofern sonst die Versorgungssicherheit gefährdet wäre.)
  • Die Unterstützung des Bundes ist subsidiär, d.h. primär sind die Unternehmen und ihre Fremd- und Eigenkapitalgeber gefordert.
  • Es gelten strenge Bedingungen: u.a. Transparenzvorschriften, eine marktgerechte Verzinsung plus Risikozuschlag und ein Dividendenausschüttungsverbot.
  • Das Volumen für Direktdarlehen des Bundes beträgt maximal 10 Milliarden Franken.

Welche Stromunternehmen gelten als systemkritisch?

Es geht um Schweizer Stromunternehmen, die einen signifikanten Anteil am inländischen Produktionspark und der Vermarktung dieses Stroms halten. Das Gesetz definiert, welche Unternehmen diese Voraussetzung erfüllen. Als Grundsatz gilt eine Kraftwerksleistung in der Schweiz von mindestens 1200 Megawatt. Darunter fallen die Axpo Holding AG, die Alpiq Holding AG sowie die BKW AG. Die ElCom kann weitere Unternehmen der Elektrizitätswirtschaft als systemrelevant bestimmen, die eine geringere Kraftwerksleistung aufweisen, sofern diese insbesondere stark vernetzt und volkswirtschaftlich relevant sind. Der Ständerat hat entschieden, dass grundsätzlich auch weitere Stromunternehmen bei Liquiditätsengpässen unterstützt werden können, sofern sonst die Versorgungssicherheit gefährdet wäre. Die Beratung im Nationalrat folgt.

Wer ist für die anderen Stromversorgungsunternehmen verantwortlich?

Für nicht systemkritische Stromversorgungsunternehmen sind die Eigentümer verantwortlich. Sie müssen die nötige Liquidität und das nötige Kapital zur Verfügung stellen. Fällt ein solches Unternehmen aus, wird es durch Konkurrentinnen ersetzt.

Könnte ein Kraftwerk im Konkursfall nicht einfach weiterbetrieben werden?

Im Idealfall schon, im schlimmsten Fall ist aber ein Ausfall nicht auszuschliessen und dann könnte die Stromversorgung der Schweiz beeinträchtigt sein. Es existieren derzeit noch keine ausreichenden Pläne der Unternehmen, den Weiterbetrieb der Stromproduktion und -verteilung auch bei Illiquidität des Unternehmens sicherzustellen. Darum will der Bundesrat vorsorgen. Die Leistungen der systemkritischen Stromunternehmen sind für die Volkswirtschaft grundsätzlich unverzichtbar. Wenn sie nicht innert nützlicher Frist – d.h. für den Strommarkt: innert weniger Stunden – von anderen Marktteilnehmern übernommen werden können, kann die schweizweite Versorgung unter Umständen nicht mehr gewährleistet werden.

Wären nicht in erster Linie die Eigentümer und insbesondere die Kantone gefordert?

Verantwortlich für die Versorgungssicherheit bleiben primär die Energieversorger und ihre Eigentümer. Der Rettungsschirm kommt nur subsidiär zum Einsatz und nur bei ausserordentlichen Marktentwicklungen, wenn unmittelbar eine Zahlungsunfähigkeit oder eine Überschuldung droht. Da die Versorgungssicherheit in einem Konkursfall nicht sicher gegeben ist, muss der Bund eingreifen. Viele Kantone sehen sich nicht in der Lage, innert kurzer Zeit so hohe Geldbeträge bereitzustellen. Die Kantone müssen sich aber zur Hälfte an allfälligen Darlehensverlusten des Bundes beteiligen.

Welche Bedingungen werden konkret an die Bundes-Hilfe geknüpft?

  • Der Rettungsschirm ist nicht freiwillig: systemkritische Stromunternehmen sind per Gesetz unterstellt. Ein systemkritisches Unternehmen kann vom Anwendungsbereich des Gesetzes weitestgehend ausgenommen werden, wenn es auf eine kantonale Liquiditätsunterstützung zählen kann, die mit der Bundesregelung gleichwertig ist.

  • Die Bedingungen für eine Unterstützung des Bundes sind sehr streng. Dazu gehören u.a. Transparenzvorschriften, eine marktgerechte Verzinsung plus Risikozuschlag und ein Dividendenausschüttungsverbot. Die Verzinsung der Darlehen erfolgt zu Marktkonditionen, mit einem Risikozuschlag zwischen 4 bis 10 Prozent. Mit den strengen Bedingungen wird zum Ausdruck gebracht, dass der Rettungsschirm lediglich für Extremsituationen bereitsteht. Zudem bezahlen die unterstellten Unternehmen eine Bereitstellungspauschale, um die Kosten beim Bund für das Aufspannen des Rettungsschirms mindestens teilweise zu decken.

  • Die systemkritischen Stromunternehmen können sich mit dem Bund vorgängig über die Bedingungen eines subsidiären Darlehens in einer Krisensituation einigen, da die Hilfe im Ernstfall innert 48 Stunden bereitstehen muss.

  • Das Gesetz ist auf Ende 2026 befristet. Danach soll eine Reihe von Massnahmen greifen, die die Strombranche widerstandsfähiger und den Rettungsschirm überflüssig machen. Dazu gehören Vorschriften, die dafür sorgen, dass wichtige Funktionen wie die Stromproduktion jederzeit weiterbetrieben werden können (Business Continuity Management), ein Gesetz zur Integrität und Transparenz des Grosshandels von Strom und Gas sowie allfällige Vorgaben zur Liquidität und Kapitalausstattung der Unternehmen.

  • Die Kantone müssen dem Bund die Hälfte allfälliger Verluste auf Darlehen erstatten. Dabei entspricht der Anteil der einzelnen Kantone ihrem Anteil am BIP. Im Gegenzug werden die Kantone zu 50 Prozent an den Einnahmen aus dem Risikozuschlag beteiligt.

Warum ist der Rettungsschirm für systemkritische Unternehmen obligatorisch?

Die Unternehmen im Strommarkt sind eng vernetzt. Wenn der Strom ausfällt, wird unser Land lahmgelegt. Eine rein freiwillige Unterstellung der systemkritischen Unternehmen ist für den Bundesrat kein gangbarer Weg, weil es Situationen geben kann, in denen systemkritische Unternehmen die nötige Liquidität innert der notwendigen Frist nicht mehr selbst aufbringen können und deren Konkurs zu Kettenreaktionen bis hin zu einem Systemkollaps führen könnte. Der Bundesrat schlägt neu aber vor, dass ein systemkritisches Unternehmen vom Anwendungsbereich des Gesetzes weitestgehend ausgenommen werden kann, wenn es auf eine kantonale Liquiditätsunterstützung zählen kann, die mit der Bundesregelung gleichwertig ist.

Sind längerfristig weitere Massnahmen geplant?

Der Rettungsschirm ist eine kurzfristige und vorübergehende Massnahme. Der Bund plant ergänzend weitere Massnahmen, um längerfristig eine gute und sichere Stromversorgung zu gewährleisten und die Stromkonzerne widerstandsfähiger zu machen:

  • Transparenz-Vorgaben für die grossen Stromproduzenten, damit Liquiditätsengpässe früh genug erkannt werden können (sog. Remit-Vorgaben: Regulation on Wholesale Energy Market Integrity and Transparency). Der Bundesrat erwartet, dass die Unternehmen diese Transparenzvorschriften ab sofort freiwillig einhalten. Es geht um Informationen, die an die ElCom geliefert werden. Damit soll die ElCom in der Lage sein, Schwierigkeiten besser voraussehen zu können und die Gesamtlage zu überblicken. Der Bundesrat plant, diese Transparenzvorschriften in einem späteren Zeitpunkt im Rahmen eines Gesetzes zu regeln.
  • Um sicherzustellen, dass auch im Konkursfall weiterhin Strom produziert wird, braucht es Vorgaben zum „Weiterbetrieb wichtigster Funktionen“ (sog. „Business Continuity Management BCM). Auch diese werden zurzeit erarbeitet und dann dem Parlament vorgelegt.
  • Eigenkapital- und Liquiditätsvorgaben – ähnlich wie sie heute für systemrelevante Banken gelten – werden zurzeit geprüft (Remit +). Mit solchen Regeln könnte dereinst das dringliche Bundesgesetz über den Rettungsschirm abgelöst werden.
https://www.uvek.admin.ch/content/uvek/de/home/energie/energieversorgungssicherheit-ukraine-krieg/rettungsschirm-faq.html